Sharks downed brutally by Chiefs

The Sharks did not have enough left in the tank as they were beaten in the Vodacom Super Rugby Grand Final by the Chiefs in a wet Hamilton on Saturday.

The Chiefs won their first-ever title in the second final at the Waikato Stadium when they beat The Sharks by 37-6 after leading by 13-3 at the break.

The team from Waikato have become only the sixth Vodacom Super Rugby champion since the game turned professional midway through the 1990s, adding their name to the list of winners with that of the Blues (1996, 1997, 2003), Crusaders (1998-2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008), Brumbies (2001, 2004), Bulls (2007, 2009, 2010) and Reds (2011).

Sonny Bill Williams celebrates

The Chiefs’ 31-point victory margin in the final is the second biggest in the history of the competition – behind the Vodacom Bulls’ win by 61-17 over the team from Waikato in 2009 (44 points).

For The Sharks it was heart-break in a final for the fourth time – they also fell short in 1996, 2001 and 2007.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Mabu Vinyl

Mabu Vinyl - The Cape Town Music Store

Cape Insight



Fantasy Football League: 14032-5215

Nicholls' Sport Blog

Sport-Based Opinions


A topnotch site

Decowall blog ~ wall stickers ~ wallpapers ~ wallclocks ~

%d bloggers like this: